Research Areas

The Helmholtz Institute Ulm takes up the fundamental issues of electrochemical energy storage and develops groundbreaking new battery materials and cell concepts. To fulfill this task 16 research groups operate within five different research areas.

Research Areas
ElectrochemistryElectrochemistryMaterialsMaterialsTheoryTheory
SystemsSystemsMethodsMethods
10 Years HIU

The Helmholtz Institute Ulm is getting 10 years old and celebrates the 200th birthday of its namesake Hermann von Helmholtz.

Anniversary Year 2021

NEWS ON BATTERY RESEARCH

Hands on Battery research: Our researchers are increasingly being called upon to discuss current scientific energy topics. Current articles, podcasts, videos and publications appear here in which they have their say.

All News
The Battery

First batteries were developed about 200 years ago. Today, there are thousands of shapes, sizes and applications of and for batteries in our daily lives. When were batteries originally discovered and how exactly does a battery work?

The Battery

Forschungsgebiete

Das Helmholtz-Institut Ulm greift die fundamentalen Fragestellungen elektrochemischer Energiespeicher auf und entwickelt darauf aufbauend grundlegend neue Batteriematerialien und Zellkonzepte. Dazu sind 16 Forschungsgruppen auf fünf verschiedenen Forschungsgebieten tätig.

Zu den Forschungsgebieten
ElektrochemieElektrochemieMaterialienMaterialienTheorieTheorie
SystemeSystemeMethodenMethoden
Helmholtz 200

das Jubiläumsjahr 2021

NEWS ÜBER BATTERIEFORSCHUNG

Batterieforschung zum Anfassen: Immer öfter werden unsere Forscherinnen und Forscher zu aktuellen Wissenschaftsthemen herangezogen. An dieser Stelle erscheinen aktuelle Artikel, Podcasts, Videos und Publikationen, in denen sie zu Wort kommen.

Weitere News laden
Grundwissen zu Batterien

Die ersten Batterien wurden schon vor ca. 200 Jahren erforscht. Heutzutage gibt es tausende Formen, Größen und Einsatzorte von Batterien. Wann wurden Batterien ursprünglich entdeckt und wie funktioniert eine Batterie eigentlich genau?

Zur Batterie